SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Watec WAT - 910 HX

LunaSwift

Having been a purely visual astronomer for some time now and wanting to get into AP, I have decided to go the video route ,,I am interested in the above camera, have read the spec, and am considering purchase, I would be using it on either Skymac 150 pro, SW Evostar 150, Mead LS 8 sct or Starwave 102ed frac, Has anyone any experience of this camera or could suggest a better buy,

You're observations appreciated

Gray

Hi

I've no experience of the Watec but have used the SCD435 with a range of scopes.

For the SCT & MAK you'll need a focal reducer - aim for F3 to F4.

Have you considered the Lodestar cameras - cost a little more but much more flexible and no PAL/NTSC encoding so possibly a better image.

HTH

Paul

Hi Graham

Looking at the price of the Watec on 365 Astro, I think that the Lodestar will be a cheaper option and give significantly longer exposure times.

The only possible downside is that you will need a computer/laptop to view, although using Paul81's Starlight Live software (MAC or Windows) will give you automatic stacking and processing of individual exposures to get fantastic detail.

The sensor size of the Lodestar is the same as the Watec so your potential field of view will be the same with similar resolution but with 16 bit data transfer allowing you to extract more information from the data.

Here's the colour version on FLO's web site:

http://www.firstlightoptics.com/guide-cameras/starlight-xpress-lodestar-x2-autoguider.html

It's available in colour or mono - the mono offers better sensitivity which is great for dim galaxies and narrowband use, however seeing colour in nebula is where the colour version comes into it's own.

YOu'll still need a focal reducer with  the SCT/MAK though.

Have a look at my gallery to see what is possible - I have the older version, the new X2 is more sensitive.