SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

'Dazed and Confused' I'm a complete newbie from West Sussex.

icmoon

Hello all.

I have to say, I am completely blown away by the number of people that are passionate about astronomy as is shown by this great website!

OK, here we go........Now please don't laugh but my first scope was a Tasco 3" beast which very nearly made me give up astronomy before I had even started. After many fruitless sessions trying to find the moon of all things, I stripped the scope down and I now have a 3" mirror to use as an ashtray, except I gave up smoking years ago. Then, I became 'less busy' as Clarkson would put it and used my redundancy money to buy a slightly better scope.

Still clueless, I wandered into 'West Sussex Astronomy' in Sussex where where a nice man relieved me of lots of cash in exchange for a Celestron Nextstar Evolution 9.25 a couple of Hyperion eyepieces and a camera thingy which apparently takes the place of the red dot thingy that usually comes with this scope & helps you to find stars, planets and nebulae, when you don't have the slightest idea of what you are doing, you get my drift. This contraption is now in pride of place in my living room decorated like a Christmas tree.  Now, seriously, I am just dying to use it but I haven't seen a star for ages for the clouds.  When I do see a patch of clear sky I will be out there like a flash even though I can't lift the thing on my own, I'll drag it outside somehow! (The nice man in the shop said I could put it on casters for an extra £300, problem solved). 

So. I have no idea if this scope is good bad or what.  It's funny how life is sometimes. I have always been a spaceflight nut, I was 10 years old when Neil & Buzz hopped about on the moon but I never seriously gave a thought to buying a telescope. Till now.