SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

my new (old) skywatcher 250 px dob

Hi all, just acquired a 2nd hand skyliner 250px dob, which I am very excited about getting to grips with. Although I have been reading quite a bit I am very new to the practice of observing. The scope didn't come with all the original kit and had a red dot finder, a 'sky's the limit branded 15 mm 2 inch EP, plus a 2 inch Barlow that won't fit all the way into the focuser tube and so I cannot use it. During my first times using the scope I noticed that the view of the stars is ok (but not perfectly sharp) and I don't get the whole field in focus at once, and when I roll the focus back and forth slowly, the focus seems to go from one side of the image to the other. Could the scope require some alignment?

In terms of first purchases I will be looking to get one relatively higher power EP and one lower power, to use with my one inch adapter. Probably look to spend between 40 and 60 per EP. ☺

Any comments and or advice much appreciated.

Thanks

Andy

Hi all, just acquired a 2nd hand skyliner 250px dob, which I am very excited about getting to grips with. Although I have been reading quite a bit I am very new to the practice of observing. The scope didn't come with all the original kit and had a red dot finder, a 'sky's the limit branded 15 mm 2 inch EP, plus a 2 inch Barlow that won't fit all the way into the focuser tube and so I cannot use it. During my first times using the scope I noticed that the view of the stars is ok (but not perfectly sharp) and I don't get the whole field in focus at once, and when I roll the focus back and forth slowly, the focus seems to go from one side of the image to the other. Could the scope require some alignment?

In terms of first purchases I will be looking to get one relatively higher power EP and one lower power, to use with my one inch adapter. Probably look to spend between 40 and 60 per EP. ☺