Narrowband

4 Hour Visual, Fantastic !

Aussie Dave

G'day all. Last night after days of cloud and rain it all cleared. The night air was cool clear and still. I'm not an expert at astonomy, I never will be and I don't know all the technical stuff or specific things up there that I saw last night but I've never seen so many nebular, star clusters (mainly open) in all my visual times put together.

For the first time I took my small pair of binoculars out with me (BNU5's) and what a difference it makes. It helps so much to find those faint fuzzies, then dialing in with the finderscope and then the scope. I suggest anyone to do this with your binoculars to help you out and you'll find heaps more to view and quickly. I used my favorite scope atm SkyWatcher Pro 150.

I started off on Orions nebular then scanned the Milky Way. There's the main, larger nebular in the Milky Way that's easy to find with many open star clusters along it as well. Away from the Milky Way is a nice cloudy patch of sky that can easily be seen with the naked eye so that was next. I wasn't really sure what I was looking at but it seemed to have many neular within it, maybe 4 or 5 with some joining? I've always looked in that area in the past but last night was the best viewing ever.

There was also a couple of other faint fuzzies that I found further away from the Milky Way but I can't really decribe what they were apart from them being nebular of some sort and a couplke more larger open star clusters here and there.

Scanning the sky looking up just by sight giving the eyes a rest, one shooting star, then back on the binoculars I tracked 2 satalites, one going one way for about 1 minute and the other going the other way a short time after for about 45 seconds while searching for other targets with the binoculars.