Absolute Beginner

Hi All

My husband is a very amateur stargazer and I have come up with the idea of getting him a telescope for Christmas.  I have had a look on this forum and can see that it's not going to be that simple.  Can anyone point me in the direction of a telescope for a beginner?  Without getting too technical, I want a "decent" one and don't want in 3 months him saying this is rubbish I need a better one.  Where do I start??

Hiya. What's your budget? Will your husband be observing from the back garden or driving to a dark site? How's the light pollution where you are? Is he showing any signs of wanting to take astro-photos?

Kev

Hi thanks so much for reply.  I don't know how much they cost lol but can we say £ 500 absolute maximum including any accessories??  Primarily it would just be from the back garden but he has on occasion mentioned that he'd see more elsewhere so a dark site is also possible.  Light pollution he's mentioned this before we are fairly close to the centre of Glasgow so I think it's probably pretty high.  Never mentioned photos but honestly wouldn't put that past him either.  Sorry to sound so vague, it was just an initial thought but the more I think about it the idea is perfect.  Thanks again!

Hiya.

Okay, the Skywatcher Skyliner 200P is the UK's most popular scope (I believe), and is well within your budget (leaving you plenty for accessories): http://www.firstlightoptics.com/dobsonians/skywatcher-skyliner-200p-dobsonian.html

It's readily transportable by car, and will offer great views. Its fairly large aperture will let in lots of light, including the bad kind (street lights, etc), so you may get slightly washed out views at home (compared to a smaller refractor type scope), but it'll be incredible under darker skies. It's a completely manual scope (no special, computerised gizmos to find objects in the sky). A good all rounder.