SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Pleiades last night

mikeDnight

Attached is a sketch of the view of M45 through my 4" scope last night. The field stars are positioned only approximately and not all field stars are shown. The nebulosity was more extensive in reality but too subtle to record accurately.

Mike

post-41880-0-64450200-1446996322_thumb.j

ya dancer......Thats the business. 

I studied some time ago, have the pencils,  erasers , rubbing stones, just no talent in the art of drawing,  especially in the dark. But the item referenced  a standard drawing,  modified to get the results we now see above.

The original  image above shows good artistry,  just weird /  strange in the fact that the original  becomes the negative. 

Good artistry mikeDnight, thanks  BigSumorian.

Excellent sketch Mike. You obviously find the UHC works despite it being a reflection nebula?

Im glad you liked the sketch Stu. Even though I was observing from an internally blackened observatory the roll off roof still allows too much light to enter my eye. To try and solve the problem I use a black blanket covering my head and focuser which is a great way of stopping light from entering my eye from the side. It really aids with dark adaption. After about 15mins observing with my 20mm XW the nebulosity was very easily seen. I then decided to try the UHC filter and the subtle nebulosity immediately became more evident. That nebulosity is more evident in the image you altered for me and not as obvious in my own negative sketch. Thanks once again.

I think it's time to design a dome to replace the runoff roof.

Mike

Very interesting, and not necessarily what you would expect. I guess that with good dark adaptation and the black blanket, the UHC dims the sky background more than the nebulosity so improves the contrast? Just shows it always worth trying new things.