Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Tripod help , ultimate novice here

I have an 8se with the tripod that came with it, but a couple of month ago I bought a preowned celestron cg-5-GT , as i thought it tracked stars with dslr ( yeah that's what I thought, how daft)

Now iv not set up the cg-5-GT yet, and wondering if iv dropped a clanger , and maybe I should sell it as it's the same but older and more complicated version of the SE mount. Please help!

Many thanks !

Both mounts track, but the SE is alt-azimuth, which means it is less good for imaging, because although the centre object stays in place while tracking, the rest of the image rotates around it. The CG is an equatorial mount, which automatically keeps the image orientation constant.

there's quite a difference between tracking and guiding. tracking will follow a star as best it can but things like polar alignment (or slight errors in it) and periodic error means that it will never be 100%. With guiding (in conjunction with tracking) the guide camera tells the mount if there is any minor drift and the mount corrects this.

This is a very basic breakdown and it'd probably be helpful if you could purchase "Making Every Photon Count". It's a brilliant book for those of us starting out in astrophotography.

Edit, this said, if you are using a camera and camera lens at short focal lengths then tracking will be sufficient to get very nice pics. It's mainly when your focal length increases that guiding starts to become necessary.

Here's my breakdown....

Alt-Az mount will get you daytime style photos.  Moon, possibly saturn and Jupiter.

Using an EQ mount, you'll be able to take some long exposures.