Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

First light

With some clear sky's I'm about to test drive my new scope(skywatcher 200p Don).As total beginner with only the supplied eps what can I expect to see with fairly Lp sky's.At the moment I'm just going to star hop but was looking for some guidance

Thanks Billy

The galaxy is actually called M31, not Andromeda which is the constellation it's in.

Bear in mind that the moon is pretty bright tonight so any DSOs will be fairly washed out. I've just had a look at a few and even the Double Cluster was not brilliant.

Without sounding thick will I be able to tell the difference between andromeda and a star that's close by

Yes, it looks like a smudge rather than a pin point of light. Easy to miss the first, but once you find it and know what you are looking for, you should be able to find it every time

The galaxy is actually called M31, not Andromeda which is the constellation it's in.

Bear in mind that the moon is pretty bright tonight so any DSOs will be fairly washed out. I've just had a look at a few and even the Double Cluster was not brilliant.

I just managed to pick out M31 in my 10x50s an hour ago. It was not spectacular, just a very faint smudge with averted vision.

However, billydean, If you wait until the moon is gone, an 8" will show you very good views of M42, M45, M51(maybe), M57, M31, C6.

If you invest in a skywatcher OIII or UHC filter, they will open your options to objects like the Veil nebula, they will make planetaries easier to spot and improve emission nebulae you can already see. The light pollution filter may help, but it depends on your light pollution.

If you are under seige from the deep orange lamps... It'll be worth it,if it's LEDs or high pressure sodium (white) then the OIII and the UHC will be the better choice.