Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

1st attempt at Orion Nebula (M42)

boxtko

This is the first time I've successfully captured, stacked and processed a deep space object. I've been attempting Andromeda, but I've been having little luck so I decided to step away from that for a bit and set my sights on Orion since its  easier for me to locate and because I've always loved Orion, ever since I was a kid.  I'm a beginner, but we all have to start somewhere, right?  I basically watched a youtube tutorial on how to take a picture of the Orion Nebula and just followed along. I used a short exposure time to avoid star trails. I captured about 50 light frames and a handful of dark frames. I stacked the images in Deep Sky Stacker and experimented with their RGB histogram tool. I then did the post processing in Lightroom.  Thanks for looking!

I used:

Nikon D3100

ISO - 3200

Exposure time: 2 seconds

f 5/6

focal length: 300mm

post-47098-0-96007900-1445453145_thumb.j

Thank you. I cropped the picture during processing so there is more there. I didn't even know about the running man until I started reading another thread. lol.  My 2 biggest criticisms of my pic are 1) I think my focus might be slightly off and 2) Too much purple spread out throughout the entire image. My goal was to take about 200 light frames, but I took this in my backyard and after about 40 or 50 I figured the neighbors don't want to hear the mirror on camera clicking every 2 seconds for an hour. lol

nice one mate and you have got the runningman neb as well , well done.  thanks for posting  charl.

id be happy with that for my first go, your focus dont look to bad, the blue might be from your light frames, i dont do lights and darks with orion neb with it being so bright, theres my image from the 13th  on this sec if you want a look . clear skys charl.