Setting up a community club, the legalities

CelestialBody

Hello

I've recently been made secretary of our local astronomy group. It's a very small group, consisting of a shed and two floor mounted outside scopes. I've no experience with administrating this type of thing and wondered if anyone can please advise on the following:

1. At the moment visitors give a "suggested donation". If membership fees were introduced does this make the group profit making and subject to tax?

2. Should it be registered as a charity?

3. There is currently no public liability insurance in the grounds of "too expensive". Is it s legal requirement to have it? The equipment isn't insured either.

4. Is been suggested that paying a membership could entitle members to visit the observatory whenever they like to use the scopes for themselves. I'm concerned with this idea because of the lack of liability insurance. Is this indeed s concern?

5. Is there a limit on what monies can be held in the bank account for a community group?

6. The group is seeking a new home following the land they were on now being sold. A donor has come forward with land. Would they need planning permission to put a large shed and two telescopes?

Any advice much appreciated!

Thanks

Regarding liability insurance, if your group joins the Federation of Astronomical Societies (FAS), then you can get insurance (PLI) under their umbrella policy. It costs to join so you would need to gather that through membership fees I guess, but it is very affordable. The cost varies with number of members so small groups are treated fairly.

Regarding the shed and telescopes, the shed being a temporary structure should not require planning permission, but check this out with your local planning service, they'll give you an opinion over the phone. The telescopes definitely won't require any form of permission.