SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Advice with Celestron vs Bushnell vs Bresser vs Opticron vs Nikon please

Victoria1410

Hello,

I've always loved the stars but this is my first time aquiring some binos and I was hoping to have a little help please?  This post was originally in the Beginers section but it was suggested that I repost it over here.

I've done loads of research and as I understand it the important criteria are: magnification (anything 7 to 10 is usually okay to hand hold), apperture (the bigger the better), exit pupil (7mm is good), field of view (the bigger the better), eye relief (> 15mm for glasses wearers), eye cups (twist up are the best if sharing binos between family members), glass type (BaK-4), prism type (Porro is better as cheaper to get good porro than good roof), coating (fully multi-coated is the best), weatherproof-ness (not that I plan to be outside if it rains but waterproof is good for rapid temperature changes, and of course rain) and weight (the longer you hold them up the heavier they will feel!).

I had a list of the following (in order of preference):

1. Celestron Skymaster 8x56 (7mm exit pupil, 5.8' field of view, 18mm eye relief with fully multi-coated BaK-4 porro prism glass)

2. Celestron Skymaster 9x63 (7mm exit pupil, 5' field of view, 17mm eye relief with fully multi-coated BaK-4 porro prism glass)

3. Bushnell 10x50 (5mm exit pupil, 5' field of view, 18mm eye relief with fully multi-coated BaK-4 porro prism glass)

4. Bresser Spezial Jagd 8x56 (7mm exit pupil, 6.6' field of view, not sure what eye relief but with fully multi-coated BaK-4 porro prism glass)

But after a few people commented about weight and pointed me in the direction of the (very helpful) Binocular Sky website, I have now found these:

5. Opticron Imagic TGA WP 7x42mm Binoculars (6mm exit pupil, 7.2 degrees width of field, 682g),

6. Opticron Imagic TGA WP 8x42mm Binoculars (5.3mm exit pupil, 6.5 degrees width of field, 682g),