Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

M31, found it!!!

Aceph

Well, I'm very new to observing. That being said I'm finding my way around. I used the Celestron sky portal app, and found M31, using a pair of Nikon Binocs I saw it!!!! It looked like a faint smudge in the sky, for lack of a better word. I tried to find it with my astromaster with no luck. That was last night. I had better luck tonight. I believe it was luck but I found it through my eyepiece. I'll take it as a win! What I was rewarded with was a little closer view of the "smudge".

A very rewarding experience!

Dark skies be yours!

Aceph

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Congratulations on your first "capture!" Very satisfying, isn't it? :laugh:

Now you're ready to bag many, many more of these "faint-fuzzies." You seem to have done your homework well by knowing what you were looking to find. Many people are deluded by either photos in magazines of glorious coloured galaxies and nebulae, or by poor marketing practices showing such on the box that cheap telescopes come in from department-stores. Along with ludicrous claims of "578X Model!" Yup. S-u-u-u-u-u-r-e!

Have fun!

Dave

M31 has that ability to be difficult to find to just about everyone the first time, then when first seen and located you can find it at almost complete ease under almost all conditions. As you used binoculars are often the easier way to see it.

Congraluations !

On a dark night you can get a "3 for the price of one deal" with Messier 31 because the galaxy Messier 32 is the "fuzzy star" just to the south of the core of M31 and M110, another galaxy, is a somewhat fainter oval patch on the other side of M31. All 3 can be seen in the same field of view of a low power eyepiece on a dark night :smiley: