Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

First scope - Bresser Messier Dob 8" Question/s

Good morning all,

I picked up my first scope (Besser Messier 8") from the very helpful guys at Tring Astro on Friday.

I built up the base without issue.

The tube mounting was simple enough too.

I also purchased a 1.25" variable polarizing filter, Two Baader Hyperion 68deg 8mm and 17mm eye pieces after discussing which ones to buy.

The OTA came with the 25mm Super Plossel eyepiece.

I looked at the Skywatcher Dobs but I was sold on the fact the Bresser is mountable on either mount types in the future should I wish to and the nice rack & pinion focuser with both 1.25" and 2" options.

Clear skies last night meant Sat night was my first opportunity to use it.

However, all I got was a blurred image of a star with the circle and cross wires in the centre. I zoomed in/out using the focuser with each of the three eye pieces too but the same scenario happened.

I am new to telescopes but I am not sure this was right. I was advised the scope should have been collimated from the factory and shouldn't need adjusting at all.

I even tried removing the 1.25" eye piece adaptor and using both Hyperion lenses into the 2" ring instead. Same scenario.

All protective caps were removed.

I also find the movement of the scope quite difficult and am already starting to think the Skywatcher model would have been better.

The base turns fine and I can loosen off the lock nut ok if needed but up and down movement is stiff as the mounts don't seem to be very forgiving with movement up and down and one side will keep popping out of the base unit leaving the scope tilted sideways until I pop it back in place.

Working Mon-Fri next week means I can't pop in to get the scope checked and next weekend the guys are off to the Brecon Beacons so it will be two weeks time before I can get it looked at.