Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

A bit of Help and Understanding for a Noob

Hi all, 

As the title suggests I am a complete noob to this hobby.  I recently purchased a SkyWatcher 130p telescope to go exploring the skies.  The first time I took it out, really to align the red dot sight I got to see Saturn and was blown away.  Fortunately I had done my research so knew that I was never going to see Hubble quality images but, wow.  The feeling I got when I could see her rings was just mind-blowing.  I have observed the moon but so far, not much else.

So anyway, I went out again Saturday night, I live in Worcestershire, UK and found a field in the middle of nowhere.  I was massively under prepared as I hadn't even planned what I wanted to see (if there was anything out to see) but the skies were clear and worst case scenario it was more practice.  This experience has left me with a couple of questions, the first regarding light pollution and time of year.  Whilst stood in this field, with no llght around I realised how light it was.  I mean, I could see the floor beneath me.  It was clear skies and no moon but is this simply because I will never truly get dark skies where I live?  I mean, yes it was dark and I had a head torch but without it I wouldn't have struggled to see where I was going.  Also, one of the things I really wanted to see was M31.  I managed to do some star hopping within Andromeda and with the 25mm wide angle lense saw what I think (hope0 was M31.  It was almost like a dust cloud a fuzzy blob through the eye-piece, would this have been M31?  I then used my 10mm lense but this was actually a worse image?  Am I expecting too much to be able to make out more detail?  Is this a lense issue or environmental conditions?

Anyway, enough from me.  A brief hello and a question or two.  Any help/advice greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Yes, lots of new people refer to eye pieces as lenses.