Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Partial Lunar Mosaic

MattJenko

I am far from an expert, in fact I have just started with this lunar mosaic madness and I know it is a bit of a faff, but I use PixInsight to do the stitching after initially stitching it with MS ICE as a first pass. I create a mosaic using ICE from the stacked images from AutoStakkert (no sharpening). This is decent, but not brilliant. I then use the stitched version as a reference frame to align each and every panel separately within PixInsight. I then use PixInsight's Mosaic generation process to get better control over the final mosaic, which can then be sharpened within PI itself as well.

I have borrowed a friend's C8 and am using a reducer and my ASI120M. I have been using a Red filter. I also have not managed to get a clear run without clouds making a mess of my full disk efforts, but I want some feedback, so posting what I have.

This is my work in progress from this week. Feedback hugely welcome, as this is monster learning curve for me and to be honest a welcome change of pace from DSO imaging. 

d16183a6a707c57e85ba7e1aa7e06ad6.1824x0_

Thanks :). The terminator and the detail along that limb kind of take care of themselves in processing, I seem to have a mental block with what to do with the more featureless areas on the other, brighter side. Do people do separate processing of these areas and blend together? I tried a few things, but nothing made it any more visually appealing, rather more the opposite!

What you can see is about 15 - 20 panels of 30 sec videos all processed up as described above. I did take more, but they were clouded out so not included. I am not sure how you do your capturing, but I used a lovely piece of software called Starry Dave's Solar System Recorder (http://starrydave.com/?page_id=11) which allows you to specify a mosaic area, and it then goes and takes all the panels for you. Genius.

Hi Rob,