SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Death of the star chart?

dmk

Whilst playing around with my new toy,It occured to me that if many newcomers are purchasing 'Goto' systems, would the ability to even read  a star chart be necessary?

I'm no expert when it comes to reading sky maps, but I managed to find my way (most of the time ) with my old refractor and a planisphere.

Foolhardy is the sailor who goes to sea, armed with only electronic navigational aids.  :BangHead:

Clear skies and good health to all. 

• Replies 81
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I've seen many more deep sky objects this year since I was given the Sky & Telescope Pocket Star Atlas for Christmas. My scopes are all alt-az and I'm the GOTO mechanism :smiley:

I've really enjoyed dark nights hopping from one faint DSO to another using this little star atlas.

I'm not a luddite though and GOTO systems and / or hand held devices are all good developments if they help folks enjoy the hobby :smiley:

Star charts give more detail, besides stars there are Messiers objects, Caldwell Objects, The Herschel 400 and a few thousand called the NGC objects. They do not all squeeze into a planesphere, well not unless it is a bit on the big size.

As to goto's I have 3 and I strangely it would seem I know the stars and others objects.

I do not know of one goto owner that actually trusts the things, lets be honest, so they actually tend to know where things are very well.

Before I say goto M13 I will have stood there, found Hercules and worked out where M13 should be.

Then if the scope goes there it will live, otherwise some fate too hideous to mention may await it.

Before I even take one outside I will have read up on what I want to see and know fairly accurately where the object is.

I enjoy this new technology, but that sudden 'WOW' i've found it, might be missing.

If you ever printed your first photograph in a tray of chemicals under the dim light in a Darkroom.....