SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Build a solar system magazine

hobsey

I built one of these on the original subscription. It's a nice piece but as you say - it works out over £300 all together. This new subscription appears to include a few extra things (like the scope & planisphere) that weren't available before.

The moons are mostly decorative for the planets - only Earth's moon is driven and only Earth spins. All the planets otherwise just go round the sun. The brass parts are nicely made and professional looking, and most stuff fits together easily with no modification. There was an odd glitch in the timing or sequence of the parts over the one year it takes to build. But they mostly dealt with any problems just by sending a replacement pack and not asking for the old/wrong one back.

For a total beginner in the early stages of astronomy who likes making stuff - it's well worth it with all the magazine information and tool kit that it comes with. But for a seasoned astronomer who just wants the orrery then maybe the £300 is better spent elsewhere on a more substantial piece. Or pick up this one on the used market for half the price. :)

Edited by brantuk

@stub: Yes it is impressive once all put together and running - it's just the constant dusting that cheeses me off lol

@mcolbert - yup that's the identical one - dunno what that price is in UK sterling but gotta be somewhere near £300.

Just seen advert on the above looks like it's driven by some sort of clockwork mechanism and a battery?99p for the first issue but I can imagine it will cost about £350 in all to build.Didn,t they make these a decade or more ago?.

Yeah I saw this last night too and thought the last lot they did were hard to get hold of so I want in on this.

Just trying to look now for delivery to Spain.

http://www.build-solar-system.com/solar-system.php

Edit:

Looks like they don't do mainland Europe, shame that. I may have a solution though.

Edited by JB80