Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Viewing objects using azimuth and alt

Sorry if this has been answered somewhere, but I couldn't find anything. I am very new to telescoping and am trying to understand the "azimuth" use. Forgive my stupidity! If my scope is polar aligned north and Saturn is currently at 33 alt and 189 az, to find it I would turn my scope's azimuth dial which rotates the scope and put it at 189. Correct? Then as far as altitude goes, I've read a bit about using your hand, etc to find altitude.

Again, sorry if this is way basic for everyone, but dark is coming and I'm anxious to find some things tonight!!

Hi,

Not sure what setting circles you have on your mount. I have recently modified my Dobsonian to use alt az coordinates and I'm very pleased to say I'm using them very successfully. There was a very good article in S@N mag a couple months ago.

My "setting circles" are effectively a compass rose in the base and a magnetic inclinometer on the OTA. How I use them is to centre a bright star near my "faint target", dial in the azimuth coordinate in the base which I take from stellarium and then move the OTA until the pointer is pointing to the correct coordinate on the compass rose and raise/lower the scope until the inclinometer reads the desired altitude. I tend not to bother checking the altitude of my bright reference star, it just wastes time, especially as the targets move quite quickly.

The key is to ensure your mount is level to start with. In theory, once you've calibrated the azimuth once, it shouldn't need changing until you move the mount but I find if I rotate in azimuth more than about 30 degrees, it benefits from re calibrating (an easy 15 second job so not an issue). If you have a "manual" altitude setting circle, you'll need to calibrate that to your bright reference star too (or invest in a digital inclinometer with a magnetic base!)