Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

sgl_imaging_challenge_banner_dslr_mirrorlesss_winners.thumb.jpg.9deb4a8db27e7485a7bb99d98667c94e.jpg

emporer

Anybody kind enough to share some setup advice?

Hi folks,

I'm a complete newbie to astronomy so please bear with me.

I had been looking at getting a scope for my daughter and myself to enjoy and start looking upwards, I purchased a Skyliner 150p Dobsonian telescope which arrived yesterday and is now built and ready to go. The only problem is I don't know how to use it! The manuals don't seem to get into things too much.

I set it up last night, focused the finder crosshairs on what I think was a star, roughly SE direction, admittedly there was some cloud in the sky, but I just couldn't get anything on the eyepiece at all, I tried both 10mm and 25mm eyepieces and all I could see was white/grey haze over the whole eyepiece. Obviously i'm not doing something correctly.

Any guides or advice to help get setup would be greatly appreciated.

• Like 1

Aligning finder and main.

Put the longest eyepiece in.

Aim main scope at something distant - 1 or 2 miles, NOT the wall opposite.

Centre the distant something. If really lucky a still on street light is good.

Somehow make sure the scope does not move.

Look throught finder and adjust until the same object is in the centre of the view.

Go back to check the main scope, expect things to have moved, so recentre and repeat finder adjustment again until both are centered on the same thing.

Do it during the day as it is light and generally warmer and trees, churches, street lights do not move, stars do.