Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

What Laptop to Buy?

I am new to the PC computer (longtime mac guy).  I see that the vast majority of software for Astronomy is for the PC.  Should I buy a new Windows 10 Laptop or look for a used one running and older version like Windows 7 ?

Need to get started with something that will work for a beginner like me.

Buy the fastest, most up to date you can afford with the largest amount of ram and the biggest storage.

It will be out of date in c.3Months anyway.

Windows 10 is where it is at.  buying a Win 7 pc may suit some but support will be pulled at some point.

I still run some pc's with Win95 and others with Win XP.

You need to dive in somewhere and my first bit of advice is the best I can offer.

Tony

I held out using exclusively Mac for about 4 months before last month in the Amazon Prime sale picking up an Asus Notebook for about £145.  You can get them for about that even out of sale.  I use it for capturing data and running PHD2 for guiding.  I then email or memory stick the night's data to my Mac for any heavy duty image processing, which for me is Nebulosity 4 (native on Mac) and Gimp + Photoshop Elements.  I don't as yet use the dedicated astro packages like Pixinsight, but they are available for Mac.  Nebulosity runs on the PC too.  In my opinion, if you use the machine offline just for astro use, you probably don't even need anti-virus software.  I also think you'll find most PCs have a free Windows 10 upgrade included.  Windows is of course truly awful.  But a cheapo notebook is fine for capture and guiding.  Don't know why I held out so long.

I would suggest looking at a refurbished windows 7 machine. Reasonably priced laptops can be had with win 7 pro 64 bit. Yes support will be pulled but not until 2022 I believe. The laptop may not last till then. I picked up a refurbished Dell 6420 for a reasonable price. It looks brand new. Not a scratch or scuff mark.

YMMV.