SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Help alligning a Celestron 90GT WiFi

Hi

I was wondering if anyone could help me i am a total newbie at this i have always wanted a telescope and finally i got one after looking around for a decent entry level one i finally decided to get a Celestron 90gt WiFi which had decent reviews.

After numerous attempts to align it using the Celestron Navigator app and i tried Sky Portal using a 3 star align and 25mm eyepiece it just wont align so as a consequence it is a long way out. I have alligned the scope finder which is fine and i managed to look at the moon and saturn (saturn found by accident) the views are totally amazing and i want more but with the app and telescope out of alligment i am finding it very hard to locate objects in the sky.

i have checked all the date, time and location settings there set correctly when im using the app looking at the sky with it using the moon as guidance the app is slightly out and the crosshair for the telescope within the app is way off.

I've tried it using the moon and two different bright stars in different locations then without using the moon I have also made sure the tripod is leveled.

The only options in the settings for alignment is the 3 star align and manual allign which I've also tried there is no 2 star allign option.

I think It could be the app that's at fault because even though I'm looking at the moon through the eye piece the app crosshair says I'm pointing to a totally different place in the sky but looking at the sky through the app it's slightly out as it shows the moon a bit lower that it really is i am going to experiment with different apps to see if that helps any.

Any advice would be greatly appriciated

Thanks in advance

Frank

Usually something that is either silly or looks right but isn't sort of thing.

Your Longitude is 2 degrees 12 minutes West, entered I think as 002  12 W