Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

New 'gazer and HEQ5 owner bumbling with set-up

DarkKnight

Hi all,

Other than my intro, this is my first post. I'm a keen photographer who's just got into nightscapes.

I've just bought a SW HEQ5 mount, the basic one, but I have the GoTo kit on order.

The SW manual is about as useful as a chocolate teapotl! I've got more info from this site than from the manual, however there are still a few (read that as 'many') grey areas.

Once I realised that the mount is pretty much two separate sections I started to make some progress. These are the points I need confirmation or direction on.

• It is not crucial to have the mount absolutely level but needs to be reasonably so, and stable
  • It is not necessary to have the mount spot on to the South Pole (I'm down under) as there is a fair degree of adjustment with the azimuth adjustment knobs. This one threw me for a bit as I couldn't figure how it worked till I backed off the mount locking screw.
  • The altitude adjustment 'T' bolts are only for fine tuning.

One other thing I'm undecided on is the best way to attach my camera to the mount (Nikon D800 + lens, up to 3kg) either by attaching the camera direct to a dovetail plate or mounting my ball-head to the plate which gives me a bit more flexibility with aligning the camera to the mount.

Cheers

Kev

The mount does'nt need to be level but if it is the latitude setting is more accurate.

You need to be as accurate as possible with the polar alignment.

I use PHD drift align as adjustment is in real time and obvious.

Both methods of attaching the camera are ok but make sure everthing is solid and cannot flex or move.

My 60Da is just bolted to a short dovetail, the only thing I did was buy high quality bolts as I don't like the average photo bolt.

You should just be able to see the dovetail in this pic of my setup

setup1.jpg

You will need to make sure the polarscope reticule is aligned to the mount axis.