SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Noisy Dark frames?

Hi everyone,

I have been struggling for some time now with DSS and have found that single exposures always look better than a series of stacked images. I have persisted but keep coming back to the same conclusion.

I recently purchased "A Guide To Astrophotography" and after watching several of the tutorials decided to have a go at subtracting darks.

What became immediately obvious to me was the difference between My dark frames and those from the tutorial. Granted I'm a beginner but surly the dark frames I took should not contain so much noise. The attached image shows, Left to right, a 600s light frame at 50% and 500%, My 600s dark at 50% and 500%, Tutorial  600s Darks at 50% and 500%. 

Are my dark frames normal or are they noisy and if so what could be contributing to this?

Stacking images in DSS with darks, flats and bias washes the picture something terrible and there doesn't seem to be enough data left for stretching after wards.

Any advise is welcomed.

Thank you.

post-36500-0-81758500-1437554762_thumb.p

I never have bothered to learn to much about dark frames or any other sort, but  the ISO used could have a bearing on the amount of noise, when i used 1100D the ISO was set at 800, all Noise reduction in the menu's were set to off....

The ISO used in my light and dark frames is 800, the dark frame from the tutorial is at 1600.

Camera used is a Canon 6d although my 1100d has same issues, noise reduction turned off since I started AP as recommended by most people. 

Hi,

From the file name it looks like you've applied a standard deviation to the dark frame? Is that a single frame? As far as I know dark frames should be median combined...

Light and dark frames need the same ISO and duration and temperature. A lower ISO should be less noisy not more.

Joe

The file names were allocated to each sub by the camera control software "BackYard EOS"