Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hi. Brand new to astronomy.

Tony H

Hi guys and gals.

My wife has always had an interest in astronomy so I trawled fleabay and bought her a scope for her birthday after reading up as much stuff (lots from here) on the best scope for a beginner.

Neither of us know what we are looking at in the sky generally, although we do have star charts and a planosphere.

I opted for a newt with goto as at least once aligned it tells us what we are looking at. :-)

We know we have a lot to learn.

Already stunned by looking at night sky with naked eye and seeing a few dozen twinkly things then through the scope thousands.

I'm reasonably tech savvy.  A little stupid. 9 & 1/2 years of RAF Air Traffic Control will do that to you..

Currently I pump gas for a living but among my previous achievements you can all blame me for the UK banks that got taken under govt control.   They were fine until they became my clients.  ;-)

Hope to connect with loads of you.  Wife may input occasionally in between glasses of wine.

Tony

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Tony

Other than blaming you for everything!

Welcome to SGL.

Don't be afraid to ask any questions, no matter how stupid they may sound. A lot of us probably want to know the answer too. (I'd do one of these smiley things here. Except I am not tech savy. At all...... Tbh, the thought of go-to sends cold cold shivers down my spine).

What scope did you go for?

Paul

Hi Paul.  Again thanks for the welcome.

Red wine?  Cheese? Did I mention I'm a bit of a cook?  No?   Ah well perhaps another time. :-)  (another smiley thing there for you.  Lol.

You can blame me for it all. Don't care.  Sloping shoulder syndrome.  It all slides off.