sgl_imaging_challenge_2021_annual.thumb.jpg.3fc34f695a81b16210333189a3162ac7.jpg

Primary school Astronomy Club

Hi all,

I am in the process of setting up an Astronomy Club for my primary school and have around £500 to buy some equipment.  I am ideally looking for at least 2 scopes to start off with and am looking for any guidance or advice?

I want something that will wow the children if possible and keep them engaged as the club grows.  I am a bit of a novice so any help will be much appreciated.

thanks in advance

Darren

hi mate and welcome to the wonderfull world of SGL from south wales. with the money you have you get 2 or maybe if you went 2hand 3 dobs there great for kids to learn with, a 150p would be a good size to start with. hope this has been helpfull. clear skys charl. 

Hello and welcome to SGL. The first telescope I would choose is the Skywatcher EvoStar 90 refractor with AZ3 mount http://www.firstlightoptics.com/evostar/skywatcher-evostar-90-az3.html. The telescope is easy to use and requires less maintenance than a reflector. The mount is also less complicated than an equatorial mount so should pose no problems in using it. The second telescope might be a medium sized newtonian reflector on an alt-azimuth base  ie  http://www.firstlightoptics.com/dobsonians/skywatcher-skyliner-150p-dobsonian.html. You should also factor in the cost of accessories such as red light torches and planispheres / star charts.

Hi Darren,

Warm welcome to SGL.

The best  bang for buck is the Skywatcher 200p, they can be bought for c£275  :--  http://www.firstlightoptics.com/beginner-telescopes/skywatcher-skyliner-200p-dobsonian.html    , And perhaps a 90mm refractor on an az3 mount c £125   :--http://www.firstlightoptics.com/evostar/skywatcher-evostar-90-az3.html  . Tell FLO to match Jessops price!