SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Using telescope for first time. Need help.

Hi.

I am new to astronomy. Yest I used my telescope for the first time. When I saw through the lens and tried to concentrate I really felt uncomfortable. My eyes felt stained and I could feel many small things moving in front of my eye. Is it normal for a first timer? Do I need to do something to adjust my eyes before viewing??

Thanks,

Shubha

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Shubha, it takes a little bit of training to get used to looking through the eyepiece, yes you see 'floaters' at first but the more experience you get, the better you will absorb the views.  Just be patient, it is not easy to start with.

Hi Shubha, it takes a little bit of training to get used to looking through the eyepiece, yes you see 'floaters' at first but the more experience you get, the better you will absorb the views.  Just be patient, it is not easy to start with.

Thanks a lot. I thought its the problem with my eyes. :D

Shubha

you just have to give your eyes time to ajust ,i found 30 minutes before i was going to use my scope i would put on my sunglasses  to help my eyes adapt" its no good if you need to do anything tec" but i found it worked for me.clear skys..charl..

Shubha what magnification were you using? At a certain point of magnification ( actually exit pupil) eye issues become apparent and using mags giving more than .8mm exit will help IMHO.

Eyepiece focal length/ focal ratio scope = exit pupil, ie my 10" f4.8 dob. 10mm eyepiece/4.8 = 2.08mm exit pupil ( which is a VG galaxy figure to use btw).

May be stupid to ask but you are adjusting the focuser to get the view sharp and as comfortable as you can?

Only ask as I would have half expected you to have said that no matter how you adjusted the focus you could not get comfortable.