Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hi from United Kindgom

Shaunio

Hi fellow SGL compatriots.

Hi I'm Shaun from lovely Lincolnshire UK and just wish to say hi.  I'm looking into long term goal of astrophotography but for now being a complete beginner of using scopes and cameras going to settle into first exploring the night sky. 

So being a beginner and everything and budget in mind I have settled on one out of two scopes to buy either a Skywatcher Skyhawk 114p or an Skywatcher explorer 130 (EQ2).  My question is whether having the parabolic mirror at a slightly lower aperture is better then the spherical mirror at a slightly higher aperture. 

Any help would be great thanks

Regards

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Shaun and welcome to SGL from another imager. 

4 and a half years ago I started knowing nothing and one of the best things I did was get hold of the book 'making Every Photon Count' available from the book section of the FLO website. This is something of an imagers bible and should be read once ..... twice and thrice....... then think about what you need and why. When you understand what works best and why then you will be best placed to spend your money without making costly mistakes. It's an excellent £20 investment and should be read by all before starting out in imaging.

Also have a look on the imaging threads and think about what you want to achieve. people often list their kit by their images so it gives you a good start on what works and what you can expect.

Look forward to seeing you around :)

Hi Shaun,

Welcome to SGL., Good advice above, I would also say go along to a meet of your local astro club and see what others have and what may suit you best there is a group ELAC hosted on east midlands stargazers website.

The reality of astrophotography is that you are lookikng at around £1000 to start, there are also certain requirements.