Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

Lyle

Hello to SGL Members & Staff,

My name is Lyle. I am 52 years old and married with 5 grandchildren. I have always been attracted to the night skies. I had the privilege in my youth of living in areas with little or no light pollution and the absence of today’s industrial air pollution. I remember being able to see the strong band of the Milky Way and a very strong star field in general. I was an avid reader of Author C. Clark & Isaac Asimov. One might say my head was in outer space but my feet firmly planted on the ground. I joined the USAF in 1981 as an Aircraft Maintenance Tech, even took a ride back seat in a F-4 Phantom to an altitude of 60Kft (saw the curvature of the earth), and to include a mach run on the way down. After 911, I cross trained into Machine Tool Technology and have been working as a machinist ever since.   

I have since been living in the Deep South near Baton Rouge & New Orleans. On a rare clear night, one might be lucky to see one quarter of the star field. Therefore we have to travel north well out of town to see some stars. I purchased a small Tasco 302048 telescope one Christmas for the kids when they were in their pre-teens. We got some good moon views, caught the image of Saturn along with some other interesting objects. I have used the same scope to show my grand children the same.

Over the last few years I have renewed my interest in astronomy and cosmology through the men Stephen Hawking and Carl Sagan. I rely heavily on the Hubble Gallery site and Friends of NASA on Google+.  I am planning on purchasing some equipment more befitting my desires, at which I will be looking at the equiptment you all use!

I am looking forward to being a part of SGL.

Sincerely,

Lyle