Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Iris Nebula again... tale of woes!

I had a go at Iris again last night. It wasn't her fault it was my stubborness!

I still havn't managed to get usable flats or bias frames. This morning, my camera rotated slightly before taking them and the DSS output reflects that fact! So the pic is 6 * 10 min subs, with 4 darks. iso 3200, image is cropped. I used a UHC filter and I don't think it has really added to my last effort. I seem less able to bring out colour from this one than the last.

Anyway, god loves a trier!

post-35654-0-12252800-1432977757_thumb.j

I look in wonder at the detail people get from short subs with low ISO with similar gear. I doesn't help living near an airport but I do wonder if I am doing anything wrong! 

I'm no expert myself, having only just got started with astronomy, but for what it's worth I'd be thrilled with that image myself. And I suspect from your location we live quite close, and I too feel the pain of the airport!

Hey, that's very good - don't be tooooo critical! I've had a few goes at this target, and there is something elusive about it. My best results were obtained by stacking all my various subs from all sessions together. 

Couple of thoughts. Most Canon users seem to feel ISO 800 is preferred, and certainly that's what I've used for this. Also you need more subs - DSS seems to come into its own with 20 subs +.  Mayby try that - even if it means reducing each exp time. My best effort was with  - approx 20 *5 minute subs at ISO 800. Not saying that's the best way though!

Also you do need more darks - if you do, say, 20, DSS will keep a master dark which you can re-use. Most folk keep library darks for different ambient temps - but they dont seem to vary much by temp - at least not to my eye.

Bias - just got to click away with shortest shutter speed - shouldn't be any hassle. Again, DSS will keep master bias.