Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Newbie, where to start looking?

Heimdall

Hello, I'm new to stargazing and this is my first time posting on a forum so I suppose I'll start by saying a little something about myself. Since I was a kid I've always loved gazing up at the stars and been fascinated with astronomy and have wanted a telescope for years. Whilst on holiday last year in Egypt me and my girfriend went on a stargazing excursion in the Sinai desert where we got to look at the moon, sirius and Jupiter through a big scope, ever since I've wanted my own. After the solar eclipse and watching the sky at night earlier this year I started to read up on telescopes as I knew nothing about them, that's when I found SGL and lots of useful information. I'd pretty much decided on a skywatcher explorer 130p with eq2 mount as I wanted to take it camping and possibly do some photography in the future. Then started to look at the skywatcher heritage 76 as it was cheap and I could set it up on my bedroom windowsill and use it whenever, I live on the side of a mountain so I get pretty good views of the moon and sky when its not raining. Anyway I was getting ready for another holiday a few weeks ago and decided to get the heritage on the way to the airport and take it with me as I knew I would have clear skies and plenty of time. I'm very happy with it and used it several nights. I had a nice view of a full moon the first night and with the help of the 'star chart' app on my phone I found Vega, Antares, Saturn, Acrab and Dschubba. Saturn looked like a tiny dot but Antares was incredible. I spent the days sunbathing and reading up on more scopes and eyepiece's and ended buying an explorer 130p with eq2 on eBay for £50, bargain! I've set it up but haven't had time to use it properly yet which brings me to the reason for this post, where should I start to look? I'll be looking for Saturn and Jupiter but are there any cool Nebula's or clusters I should be on the lookou