SCT for second telescope?

Hello everyone,

I am new to the astronomy "sport" and the forum. At this point, I think I know just enough to be dangerous. :) After reading the internet for some time got my first "serious" telescope some time ago, an Apertura AD8 (with the setting circles and leveling feet options for the curious). It was what seemed to be overwhelmingly recommended for a beginner such as myself: decent sized Dobson, but not too big to move around as otherwise you won't use it, etc.
Anyways, while it is an excellent telescope (at the least excellent beginner telescope), I am finding it somewhat unwieldy if I were to go on a trip. I brought it to a family members house and it took 3/4 of my car space, tube across the back seat, stand on the passenger seat. I have been reading about SCT telescopes, but nothing seems to directly answer the questions I have. So I have some here.
I will start with what I am looking for as it has also become obvious to me that there is no one size fits all score per se, but I am hoping maybe to find on that is maybe good at primary and sufficient for secondary usage
I am looking for something like the following:
- portable enough for a camping trip without taking up 3/4 of the car space.  Here camping means a vehicle and tent, not hiking miles into back country. No piece over roughly 20 pounds.
- still decent aperture - 8 inch or so, maybe 10. Rough measure would be "sees objects as good as the AD8".
- primary use is casual viewing of the night sky, whatever may be there. More visible is of course always better.
- secondary use would be light photography work maybe. Haven't really thought about it other than snap pictures of what is easy as I'm not personally really that interested but some other family members are into photography.
- land viewing would be nice as well if it is a feature. The telescope is then useful for 24 hours a day on a trip rather than just at night, and even that assumes a good clear night sky.