Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Alt-Az or EQ for visual astronomy

I am fairly new to astronomy and do not know my way around the sky very well at this time.

I am looking to buy my first "real" mount having used a photo tripod and manfrotto video head to date.

I only do visual astronomy and have no interest at this time in doing imaging.

I thought I would get an EQ5 mount and use the setting circles to find my way around the sky with a star atlas. Will this be accurate enough or am I kidding myself. Do I really need to invest in a GOTO setup to make finding my way around the sky easier?

Or, do I buy an Alt-Az mount and figure my way around the sky the hard way?

I would appreciate your thoughts and guidance.

Tony

Hi Tony

I'm a purely visual observer too, and have used a variety of EQ and AltAz mounts.

One comment I would make is that setting circles are notoriously inaccurate on most mounts, so they won't be a great way of finding stuff.

Most of my observing is done on manual AltAz mount such as the Giro, mini giro or Ayo. These are very quick and easy to set up, and I don't find it any more difficult to find my way around than with an EQ. If anything the eyepiece position is more consistent and the movement more natural.

I find EQ mounts a bit too much effort to set up for visual, but one thing you might want to consider is a mount with encoders such as the AYO II which you can add them to as an option. These work very well as a push to finding system when paired with SkySafari on a smartphone.

My latest wheeze is an AZEQ6 which I am using in AltAz mode. It is a bit of a beast, but I need the load capacity for my 6" frac. This works extremely well both for simple tracking of planets and also as a full go to. The AZEQ5 suggested by Tinker is a smaller brother to this and would work very well.