Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

LUNT 35 BASIC PACKAGE HELP

Dear Fellow Solar Imagers 

​A little advice and help needed please. 

I am a science teacher working in the west midlands. Last year our school received a grant to purchase a solar telescope. After much discussion I went ahead and purchased the Lunt 35mm basic model.  Since we obtained the scope, I have been a little underwhelmed with it's performance. 

I need some advice on this scope if anyone out there has this model of solar scope, as I'm at the point of thinking of selling it. 

Firstly, I know it's only a 35mm, but the size of the sun in the field of view is so small to really show it off to pupils. Is it suppose to be so small? I have used a PST before, and seem to remember the image being so much better and fuller in the PST model. 

I have tried a number of eyepieces in the Lunt and seem to find that the 10mm works best if at all. All other eyepieces that I use for my night scopes, 25mm, 35mm wide field, and even using a barlow lens all seem to make it impossible to view the solar disc. There seems to be a horrible sweet spot in all those eyepieces, and in 90% of them, it seems way to hard to even view the solar disc. 

Should i be using dedicated solar eyepieces for this scope (is this something that I am missing?) or can  I use traditional eyepieces for my night time astronomy? 

Would the image still be as bad and as small if I attached a web cam and tried to stream the image on a laptop screen?  

The scope is designed as a grab and go scope, which I'm really not seeing how this can be.  It's super hard to use on a standard camera tripod and only seems to keep the solar disc in the centre if it's tracking on a decent EQ mount.

Doing some online research, I can see that most solar scopes that give really great detailed images on the sun seem to be over the 80mm mark, but these also come with a heavy price tag too (which a humble teacher cannot really afford).