SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

32 bit vs 16 bit - What's this all about?

I’m very new to image processing so trying to learn what I can through trial and error. One thing I’ve noticed is most capture software produces 32 bit images (Fit’s or Tiff’s) and it seems that Photoshop does a better job processing 32 bit Tiff’s once subs have been calibrated, aligned and stacked. However, when converting 32 to 16 bit - the difference is immediately noticeable in terms of noise, etc. and PS automatically defaults to HDR toning. From that point forward - no additional processing I’ve tried can bring the image quality back to where it was. Of course this makes sense - and I’d expect there to be some loss of quality – I’ve just been surprised how noticeable the difference really is. PS won’t let me create a JPEG directly from a 32 bit Tiff so I’ve been converting it to a 16 bit Tiff prior to saving it as a JPEG. Is this the recommended way to convert an original 32 bit image into a web ready JPEG and if so - are there any tips for maintaining image quality during the conversion?

Again - I’m a complete newbie so please don’t assume I know something most astro-imagers already would... :)

JPEG files can only be 8 bit per channel for a total of 24bit, this is all you need for display purposes as the human eye cannot detect the tonal differences in higher bit depth than that.

I don't use PS myself but the software I use has a distinction between saving and exporting, when you save you are saving what is on the screen and it won't let you destroy data by using the wrong file type. Exporting you can do whatever you want.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Additionally most laptop screens are 10-12 bit split between R,G&B too.

The largest image I've processed is 64bits per channel (around 6GB for the image). In this situation you use software to provide you with a perspective rather than see the full image.