Narrowband

Seben Big Boss

Hello everyone,

I know I am going to get a lot of flak for this, but here goes:

I have just bough a Seben Big Boss, I suppose the only good thing is that I have paid £30 for it. I tried it yesterday and I think it might need adjusting (!), clearly it was stored somewhere for a very long time (judging from the amount of dust on it).

I am total noob, and from my first use I can say that only the 25mm Plossl was half useful with it.

I still need to clean it properly, the main mirror has some spots on it, and it probably needs collimating (good luck with that).

I am treating this as 'proving grounds', it is my first 'telescope', only other optics I have is Aldi's 60x60mm spotting scope, which incidently was £30 as well :-)

Any advice is greatly appreciated (tasteful jokes are welcomed as well).

Kindest regards

Yep, I did post it in the 'Del Boy' thread. Anyhow, I know how terrible it is, but I got to learn as much as I can about telescopes, so if I break it it's not going to be a big loss.

So fire away if you have any suggestions on how to improve it (if at all possible).

Regards

30 pounds is not too much money to spend... I have heard some people defend the Sebens, although they are in the distinct minority! Most people, myself included, have never tried one.

I suggest the best approach would be use eyepieces that place the least demands on the optics and the mount, such as lower-power, moderate field eyepieces like a 15mm or 25mm plossl.

I think there is a typo in Seben's title, it should read Big Loss!.  However, for £30 it's worth having as a starter. I've had hands on experience with one of these  and once collimated, although not in the same league as Skywatcher and other recommended makes, it's better than naked eye and will give reasonable views of the Moon and low power objects such as DSO's.  :smiley: