Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

10" dobsonian suggested eyepieces

Hi, I am very new to astronomy and bought a 10" skywatcher dobsonian at the weekend.

I am after some advice on what eyepieces to buy. I mainly want to look at planets and deep space objects. I'm completely baffled by the array of different eyepieces you can buy and was wondering if the SkyWatcher Planetary UWA Eyepiece range was any good and what sizes would be good for my scope and what I want to do? I would rather buy cheap ones at this stage and that more expensive ones as time goes by.

I would like to buy a couple and assume that there's no point in buying two that are only a mm apart (or am I wrong) and does this depend on what planet / DSO you are looking at?

Jason

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

First and almost standard question: What budget are you looking at per eyepiece and I am guessing 2 eyepiecce from what has been mentiioned, any chance of 3??

10 inch is probably f/4.8 or something, but less then 5.

You may be wrong on 1mm difference, things are sort of critical at the small end.

The BST's (£49) should work well, they come in 5mm, 8mm, 12mm (at the lower end),

Nice eyepieces but for planetary viewing the gaps may be a little big, or not.

The Celestron X-Cels (£59) perfom similar and they come in smaller steps: 5mm, 7mm, 9mm, 12mm.

For planetary these are likely better, more selection.

Problem is you say mainly planets and DSO's, what else is there?

DSO's are different to Planets.

Not 100% sure about how goo a 5mm will be, 7mm and 9mm sjould be good on planets, but you need a 25mm and one in the middle for DSO's.

Now at 4 eyepieces however.

If DSO and Planets I guess that an 8mm and 25mm BST will do you well.

Equally a 7mm and 25mm X-Cel good.

If planets take precidence a 7mm and the 12mm X-Cel, nice balance.

For greater magnification you will want the 5mm eventually.

I took the "simple" option, I bought all the BST's.

Hiya,