Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

First novice attempts at Jupiter - any advice?

I'm new to astronomy / astrophotography, and bought my SkyWatcher 200P Newtonian in March, with EQ5 motorized mount. I have to say, it's been a fantastic couple of months and I've enjoyed every minute of it.

I wanted to decent size pics of Jupiter without spending too much, so I bought 2 additonal barlows (Seben 2x and Ostara 3x), although I was warned by online reviews that the quality wouldn't be the best. Still for about £40 for the pair, I couldn't go far wrong.

I went for the entry-level imaging camera (ZWO034MC) - and with a low-res sensor, so I figured it was important to get Jupiter to 'fill up' a large part of the array without too much distortion.

Here are my first few attempts:

1) Stock 2x barlow, moderate seeing

post-44014-0-35121500-1429691585.jpg

2) Ostara 3x barlow, good seeing

post-44014-0-45936300-1429691718.jpg

3) Stock 2x barlow + Seben 2x barlow - good seeing

post-44014-0-61835300-1429691657.jpg

4) Best so far - Seben 2x + Ostara 3x - excellent seeing (got Europa's transit too, right in the middle of Jupiter)

post-44014-0-29125000-1429691854.jpg

It seems the cheap barlows produce pretty good results, especially when combined together - which really surprised me. I thought doing 6x wth a Newtonian would give bad results (which is what I'd read). But my best Jupiter seems to be from doing exactly that!

Any comments and advice to improve things further (without breaking the bank)?

Thanks for the encouragement! I'm not sure what the limiting factor is for the images, as the quality varies wildly from night to night. Seeing and collimation appear to make the most difference in my case. What would you suggest I upgrade first to get the best improvement-for-money?