SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Absolute Beginner With A Question

I got my first telescope today and I dived straight into it and actually managed to find a star, I was so excited until I zoomed in on the star and most of it was blocked by what I'm led to beleive is the secondary mirror. My view of the star looks something like this:

92aac65f780769cc7438b4b417bc7476.png

How can I stop this from blocking my view?? Thank you

You cannot zoom in on a star.

You drop an eyepiece in and focus with that eyepiece, there is no zoom.

If you want a bigger image you change eyepieces and refocus for that eyepiece.

As Dave says you have an out of focus image.

When I twist the focus knob I get this:

efba1a86c1268d5f630d34c712e105dc.png

Can I not get a closer view without seeing the black circle?

No, a star is a point source of light (except the sun), you won't ever see them as anything else, well they will appear as a tiny disk with a diffraction ring or two perhaps, but essentially they are points of light.

There is plenty to see though, star clusters, both open and globular, planets, the moon, planetary nebulae, galaxies etc

When I twist the focus knob I get this:

efba1a86c1268d5f630d34c712e105dc.png

Can I not get a closer view without seeing the black circle?

The focus knob DOES NOT make the image bigger or smaller it just focuses what is there, I think you are not quite understanding what the focus knob does, the only was to Zoom in on an object, as you seem to want to try and do, is to put a much more powerful eyepiece in the scope, and refocus.

You need to try on the moon next time it is around, and you will,see better what we mean, but by turning the focus knob the image will go out of focus and you will get the doughnut picture as on the first picture you posted, and then into focus as on the last picture you posted, it will not zoom in and out....