SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Scope has arrived !

Morning people,

Well it was a day late but my first scope has now arrived, feel like I am 10 years old again.

The other great news is that I now have 5 days off work.

Wonder if any of you guys and gals can give me some advice?

Sky conditions permitting, I am eager to get outside later this evening.

What can I do today to prepare, any advice would be great.

Don't forget I am a complete beginner so any advice no matter how small will be a great help.

Thanks in advance

Kev

Jupiter is nice and high at the moment, you will be able to see it from about 19:30.  Download Stellarium (it's free!) and set it up, you will be able to tell where the Orion Nebula and the Plaides are (these are a bit low in the sky by the time it gets dark but will still be visible). If your scope is a Dobsonian take it outside at least an hour beforehand to let it cool down.

As above from Kev, tell us which scope you have and people a lot more expert than me will be able to give you more help.

Just realised we have two Kevs here. I'm going to have to concentrate.

Make sure you set your finderscope up too on a distant object in daylight. Something a mile or so away is best. Will making finding things so much easier at night!

Although still low in the sky at this time of year, M13 is pretty spectacular. Arcturus and Herschel's Garnet star offer a nice bit of colour, Messier galaxies in Ursa Major are nice and high at the moment – Ms 81, 82 and the Whirlpool. As for setting up and preparing for the evening ... if you don't already have one, pop along to a camping shop and grab a red light torch, download a planetarium app for your smartphone/tablet (Stellarium/Google Sky Map, etc). Depending on your scope/mount combination, you may need to read up on polar aligning and balancing the telescope. Dress warmly.