Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

A little help needed

Some newbie questions hope you can help,

Can't seem to get good focus when looking a say Jupiter, could this be due to collimating? (Scope is a skywatchers 130p)

Do the ep or mirrors mist up when outside?

Last one, when I do a tour of sky on goto and pick say M66 I can't see anything. I've tried using all ep's Barlow the lot.

Sorry if they are daft questions....total novice

Cheers

Carl

Eyepieces will mist up sometimes, but I've been told not to wipe them, just to take them indoors for about 10 or 15 mins for them to clear up. Have u checked collimator by looking at a star out of focus? Still a newbie myself so not too clued up myself. Can't help with goto as don't have it. Best book to get that will help you loads is turn left at orion, well worth getting, will answer most of you questions. Good luck

Welcome.

May be a collimation issue. Take a bright star out of focus quite a lot so it forms a big disc, and look to see if the curcles are equally concentric (google collimation star test or the like). If the "seeing" is bad, again look up "astronomical seeing" on google, then it is tricky to get a sharp image. If you yse an eyepiece with a low number, and you are trying to use too much magnification (maximum is about 30 times your apperture in inches, so if 10 inches the max usedul magnification would be about 300x); to calculate magnification, dicide the focal length of your telescope in mm, by the focal length of the eye piece you are using (also in mm). With a scope with small apperture, and shortish focal length, and keep the magnification within limits, the inage of the planet will be small, if you increase the magnification with a shorter focal length eye piece (lower number) the inage will get [removed word] but MuCH more blurry and impossible to correct this by trying the readjust the focus.