SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Starting over - what imaging set-up from the ground up?

Hello all, 

I am new to astronomy, but have reached the conclusion that I want to move purely to the dark side. I currently have a Celestron CPC1100, and was contemplating going down the wedge route etc.. however I have now decided that rather than compromising, I'd rather sell up and start from scratch. 

I have been looking at a lot of different options, and would like to know others suggestions without prejudicing the responses by venturing by own initial preference. 

My skill is at level 0, my budget around £2500. I have a Nikon d610 DSLR, and would be prepared to use this initially with the intention of buying a CCD later (when I have more pocket money).

Thanks,

Tim

It really depends what you want to image. The CPC1100 will be good for planetary imaging as it is not necessary to have an EQ mount for that.

If you want to get into DSO imaging you will need a good EQ mount and, I would suggest, a short tube refractor like an Evostar ED80 which will need guiding to be able to take long exposures. You could guide your CPC plus wedge but the guiding would be much more difficult due to the focal length of the scope. Also the field of view is too small for lots of DSOs.

Peter

Your 1st purchase should be Every Photon Counts by Steve Richards and don't buy anything else until you've read through it twice.

The standard beginners setup is:

Heq5 mount

ED80 with reducer

Finder guider or ST80 guidescope

QHY5-II/QHY5L-II guidcam (there are many other options here)

With some patient searching of the classifieds (Astrobuysell, eBay) you should have plenty change from your budget.