Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

What is the point in a 2.5mm eyepiece?

tomo1515

As a beginner I'm trying to get to grips with all these eyepiece specs. I've read that the lower the 'mm' number the more powerful the eyepiece is. The usual sort is around 10mm-30mm, then what is the point of a 2.5mm. The 2.5mm gives a power of 480X on a 1200mm focal length scope and with a 2X barlow a power of 960X. If it becomes unusable around 350X what are the uses for it. I just can't see any.

http://www.firstlightoptics.com/skywatcher-eyepieces/skywatcher-uwa-planetary-eyepieces.html

The name says it all. Some planets like Saturn and Mars need high magnifications. And to get a decent magnification on a fast scope, you need low fl EPs. My scope, for example is 130mm dia and 650 mm fl. So a 2.5 mm ep would give me 260x, which is below the theoretical max for my scope. Under really good seeing, I can use 260x.

Sent from my HM NOTE 1W using Tapatalk

Some scopes have a short focal length but are still capable of high magnifications so you need a short focal length eyepiece to get there. Using a barlow lens with a longer focal length eyepiece is another way.

I've found that floaters in my eye become very distracting when I'm using an eyepiece with less than 3mm focal length. That varies person to person though.

Apart from any question of pushing scope maximum mag, the trick as adarshadoisa mentioned, is the seeing...

So for me under London skies, my 2.5 is pretty near useless. I can see stuff at lovely high mag, but about as sharp and detailed as a soggy Jacob's cracker. Still hoping it will snap into focus with the Moon tho, on an exceptional night. Optimist eh?

Edit\ And John is so right about floaters. Pesky things: my eyes need a flush-through :)

.....having  the higher magnification does have its uses for me,  only if the seeing is good and the target is large enough, ie the Moon.