SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Was it a meteor or plane

smith-the-dog

I'm new to astronomy.

But earlier tonight whilst looking at orion belt, (with my 10x50 bins) I noticed a super fast object moving East across the night sky...

I often see planes and helicopters but this zoomed across the night sky....

I managed to follow it through my binoculars but lost it ...

Any ideas peer's

It was of lowish magnitude. .

I'm new to astronomy.

But earlier tonight whilst looking at orion belt, (with my 10x50 bins) I noticed a super fast object moving East across the night sky...

I often see planes and helicopters but this zoomed across the night sky....

I managed to follow it through my binoculars but lost it ...

Any ideas peer's

It was of lowish magnitude. .

I you noted down the time and date of your seeing you can use stellarium to go back in time and point to where you were looking at. Remember to activate the satellite plugin first :) The ISS will also be shown.

Hey, thanks all...sorry for late reply. I am new to SL and didn't get any notifications.

But a satellite sounds like a perfect answer. I didn't even know we could see them. Well happy now!

It was definitely too fast for an aircraft and real high.spooked me a little bit..lol

Thanks again..

I you noted down the time and date of your seeing you can use stellarium to go back in time and point to where you were looking at. Remember to activate the satellite plugin first :) The ISS will also be shown.

You could check, but I noticed that Stellarium isn't always 100% accurate (possibly due to inacurracies regarding location). I noted a lunar occulatation the other night (HIP 28348 A - a mag 7.9 star) as occuring at exactly 20.08.02hrs. Stellarium said it occurred nearly two minutes later! I checked my watch and it was accurate to within two seconds so the error wasn't me! :smiley: