Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Looking to upgrade

Hey guys, I'm back after a several month absence from astronomy - (unfortunately college has been quite frantic and has taken up a lot of my time) but I've managed to get back into astronomy (starting off with some pictures of Jupiter and it's moons just about 30 minutes ago) however this raised a problem, I'm using a Sky Watcher, Sky-Liner 200p, a dobsonian telescope which is probably the worst type of telescope for some serious Astrophotography (which I want to get into) as I'm a college student and will hopefully soon be getting money if I can find a job, I will be looking to upgrade to something a bit better for Astrophotography, I'm looking for some ideally which isn't too expensive but ideally something which is better than my current setup.

Thank you guys, it's great to be back here with such a great community!

• 2 weeks later...

I don't know anything about AP really other than that it's pretty expensive if you want to do more than take registax'd pictures of the planets using a webcam or quick exposures. For a start you require a sturdy german equatorial mount like a Skywatcher HEQ5 or maybe a Celestron Advanced VX both are around £700, then you want something like a small 3 inch apochromatic refractor which are also fairly expensive, you need a CCD or DSLR too although that can be the least expensive of these major components. All added up it costs like £1-1.5k.

This seems okay for starting to get serious with AP http://www.firstlightoptics.com/pro-series/skywatcher-evostar-80ed-pro-heq5-pro.html you'll want the focal reducer/flattener for that scope too, but if it were me I'd buy a small William Optics scope and the HEQ5 Synscan separately.

Hopefully someone more knowledgeable takes notice of your thread and gives some advice.