sgl_imaging_challenge_banner_31.thumb.jpg.b7a41d6a0fa4e315f57ea3e240acf140.jpg

Hi I have been learning how to use pixinsight and have managed a few things to get better images but I seem to be stuck on saving the image? I have saved as a fit file but when I reopen it with pixinsight its back to the original (dark image) also I want to open it with lightroom but dont know what the best format is I have tried saving both as a FIT and also as JPEG but cant open them except in pixinsight, what am I doing wrong

Did you do a histogram stretch on it as it will still be a linear image if not. Don't ask me to explain what a linear image is though as that's way above my pay grade at the moment! :grin:

As I said, I'm no expert but I would highly recommend checking out the tutorials on harry's astroshed, they helped both myself & many many others to get a hang of PixInsight & I reckon you'll benefit from harry's advice as well.

HTH,

Jeff

• Like 1

LR should open JPEGs? I would save as TIFF 16 bit and untick the ICC profile box

Also do not forget the auto Screen stretch is only temporary and will not save any settings

Edited by tingting44

That'll be it.

In a 'linear' image a part that is twice as bright as another part is given twice the brightness. A part that is 4x as bright gets 4x the brightness. When we stretch we change all that. The fainter signal is made brighter by a far greater amount than the brighter signal.

Olly

ARRRRGGGGHHHHHH, so frustrating I took a lovely photo loads of detail in it looks great when I play with it in pixinsight every damm time I save it to tweak in lightroom and every time it ends up original. all i want is a button that will save it as is. I am going through Harrys videos and copying him as I,m watching I just need to save it and keep the changes how hard can it be lol, walk away from it have a cuppa  dont think about it then go back