SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

EQ5 bubble level

Julian Hands

I've been using my EQ5 mount since January and always queried my polar alignment, as I always seem to have to compensate with Dec adjustment.

Tonight I studied YOU TUBE and found a good setup tip via Astro shed which prompted me to use a level across the tripod head on each of the three legs, before added the EQ5 mount. Thankfully I have a very accurate machine level which I used to setup the tripod and after 10 minutes of fractional tweetkng, had the tripod spot on. On mounting the EQ5 head, I was surprised how far out the bubble was, but left it alone and observed Orion for a while, which now tracked beautifully with just the RA.

I've now used a permanent marker to dot where the centre of the EQ5 bubble level needs to be, but will use this machine level procedure for future observing as it certainly gave a brilliant result tonight.

Lesson learnt, don't take the bubble level for granted. Surprised me and what a difference I got.

For the equatorial mount, it doesnmt haven't to be level, as when polar aligning one uses the azimuth and altitude adjustments to line the RA axis up with the celestial axis, irrespective of how unlevel the tripod is. Doing a star alignment then teaches the handset or computer exactly where the stars are in relation to where the mount it. So having it very level isn't important. But yes, these bubbles are often out.

Jambok is right. All you do when you level the mount is set the polar scope reticle to the correct angle but, given its inaccuracy anyway, the effect is trivial.