Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

Hi All

I downloaded a trial version of PixInsight yesterday and this is my first attempt to use it on one of my captures from last year.

The colour is much better and overall noise is lower. "Harry's tutorials" have helped enourmously but I think it will take me a while to master even a small number of the many functions that PixInsight contains.

Cheers

Mike

Lagoon Nebula

• Like 4

Details:

Messier 8, NGC 6523 - Lagoon Nebula

Skywatcher Quattro 10" f4 Newtonian.

Skywatcher AZ Eq6 GT Mount

Orion auto guider - PHD2.

Baader MPCC Mark 3 Coma Corrector, UHC-S 'nebula' filter.

Nikon D300 (unmodified).

Field of view (deg) ~ 1.35 x 0.90.

UHC-S 23 x 240 sec ISO200 (14bit NEF).

PixInsight and Photoshop

2 August 14 (reprocessed PixInsight March 15)

That is lovely Mike. It is a shame that this target is not available to me for imaging from my location but last summer I observed it using a 15 X 70 Bino while I was on holiday in Spain and the entire Sagittarius region was very rewarding.

Regards,

A.G

Thanks A.G.

I was blessed with many clear nights back when this was taken in late winter. Not so the last two months - we have had high humidity that most nights turns to cloud up here in the mountains above Sydney. Oh well, can't last forever ...

Great image- one of my favourite objects, just wish it was a bit higher in the sky from the UK!

Great image- one of my favourite objects, just wish it was a bit higher in the sky from the UK!

Thank you.

We are lucky 'down here' - in particular because the air is relatively free from dust and pollutants; although there are still many objects that are too far North for us to see.

Create an account or sign in to comment