Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Greetings from Scotland

AstroLover_x

I recently discovered this site and I like it ,just need a bit to adjust to everything. I'm from Dunoon but with roots from Croatia. Sadly here in Dunoon are no astronomy club-s so I wanted to join here...I see people are nice and friendly :) 

I got a Celestron Astromaster 114 EQ few months ago and so I found a bit difficult with a starpointer finderscop part that is very important to me ...

have a nice day everyone :)

Welcome.

Only been in Dunoon once, for a couple of days. You are close to some nice dark skies.

Have fun - and ask questions. There are some very clever, as well as friendly, people in/on SGL.

Hi and welcome to the forum. It seems to be a familiar complaint that your scope's finder is a little difficult to align and also a bit too bright. Luckily there are alternatives out there which are great to use such as the infamous Telrad and the Rigel QuikFinder which being smaller, would be probably more appropriate for your size of scope. In principle you shouldn't have to add to your kit if you have paid good money for the whole setup but no one scope has all the bells and whistles on as it might price the scope above the competition. It's one of the advantages of being on this forum in that you can ask for members' advice on equipment because the replies will be both impartial and based on actually using the stuff which can save you a lot of money before buying what you really need.

Wishing you clear skies and hope you enjoy your stay here and don't forget to keep asking questions as it can be your only way of getting your head around some of the stuff that goes on here! :grin: