SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Struggling to build a rig for Astrophotography :S

Hi everyone, you'll have to excuse my ignorance as this is my first post on the forum, and I'm also a beginner to astrophotography!

I'm trying to build a rig as I want to get into astrophotography, namely deep space once I've got to grips with it, But I'm unsure on what exactly I need :S

I've been reading a lot of these posts and have come to the conclusion a HEQ5 or an EQ6 is the minimum mount needed, but I'm getting a bit confused on the synscan/GOTO capabilities, does it have to be GOTO to track the star?

I'm also looking at 8" newtonians, and obviously a DSLR. What else is needed to get going?

Thanks guys

Alex

if you want to use an 8 inch Newt then a HEQ5 would be a good idea.  I use an EQ5 with my 200P but it is right at the weight limit and guiding is out of the question.  But just to give you an idea of what is possible with minimal kit, this is what I have done with my trusty old 200P, EQ5 with RA motor, Canon 1100D modded by Cheap Astrophotography, Astronimik CLS filter and Skywatcher coma corrector.

As for goto, the choice is entirely yours.  I have never needed goto but there have been plenty of times when it would have been useful.  For the £120 or so extra cost over the Syntrek model, I would say have it and keep your options open.

16600931635_c3f2dc30bc_c.jpgHorsehead Nebula by porkyb, on Flickr

GoTo is not tracking but it is mighty important in the real world of imaging where time is tight and must not be wasted. If you use EQ Mod free software you can have free GoTo, I think, by linking to free planetarium software like Carte du Ciel. So the Synscan version of the mount without handset can still be made to Go To. I don't use this kit myself but I think that's the thrust of it and others will give an authoritative answer.