Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Out of focus image suggestions

MattJenko

Hi,

Bit of a daft question really, but I am just starting out using a mono camera and filters and from my first few sessions I have a few colour sub sets that are out of focus, and the old adage of beggars can't be choosers applies. I have been imaging open clusters to make sure I can get stars right so there is no smeared nebula or galaxy to give up on, just some out of focus stars. I have taken this as an opportunity to try and practice processing them, as not all the channels are out of focus, and I have been taking the in- focus channel as a luminance channel for the overall RGB image, which is kind of working.

What suggestions does anyone have on 'refocusing' individual colour channels for pure star fields, basically making the stars smaller I guess? I use PixInsight and have been trying the various MorphologicalTransformation options with some limited success and will give deconvolution a go a bit later today, just wondered if anyone had any other fancy suggestions? I am not aiming for APOD, just some different techniques to practice on my poor quality data.

Thanks

Matt

I tend not to use the luminance layer for the starfield where possible, nor do I shoot lum for clusters - though this means your colour has to be unbinned and in focus. (In focus lum will greatly help out of focus RGB.)

I make my starfields, then, from RGB only and stretch using a specific curve which tries to get the background sky to the same level as the main image (23/23/23 as measured in Ps for each channel) while stretching the stars as little as possible to keep them small and colourful. This is a curve designed to control Alnitiak but the idea is similar. The slight droop in the straight line is a boob! Sorry. Should be straight.

CORE%20CONTROL%20CURVE-M.jpg